Messaging Not Possible: WhatsApp Clarifies Implications of Refusing Updates

WhatsApp will impose restrictions on accounts that will not accept the new privacy policy – they will not be able to read and send messages. After a while, such an account will be deleted. This is reported by TechCrunch with a link to a WhatsApp email to one of its trading partners.

Recall that WhatsApp intends to add to the agreement a clause on the transfer of data of messenger users to Facebook. At the same time, due to massive discontent, the update of the policy was postponed from February to mid-May of this year.

If users do not accept the new terms, then “for a short time” they will be able to receive calls and notifications, but messaging in the application will not be possible, the company said in a letter. It also explains that the “short time” will last for several weeks.

The authenticity of the WhatsApp email has been verified.

According to the information on the frequently asked questions page of the messenger, the accounts of users who have not accepted the updates will be considered inactive. Such accounts will be deleted after 120 days of inactivity.

On the eve it became known that over the next weeks a banner will appear in WhatsApp with additional data on the new confidentiality policy of the messenger. The company said that users will be able to familiarize themselves with the information “at their own pace.”